Talking to the Mirror, aka Yourself!

Posted: April 26, 2013 in Life
Tags: , , , , ,

“Wow, this is not what I expected… calm down. You know that you should never have expected anything. I know, but I thought things would end differently. Don’t worry, you still have next week to clarify things, right?”

We all do this, don’t we? We talk to ourselves in the mirror as if we were talking to our best friend or our dog or our food for that matter. Somehow, it releases some tension that we have been feeling. Now, don’t be thinking to yourself, “Wow, I never talk to my reflection. This kid’s a weirdo.” Calm down. You know you do the same. If it’s not a mirror, you do talk to yourself. Whether out loud or in your mind, you really do talk to yourself. Almost constantly, I’ve realized… okay, now I am creeping myself out because I am currently conscious that I’m talking to myself while typing this.

Why do we do this? Frankly, I don’t know. There’s something about talking to yourself that makes you feel lighter and more confident in yourself. If you don’t believe me, fine, how about you get off the screen, go to the closest mirror you find, and talk to yourself about your problems. Or just talk to yourself right now about what’s bothering you or what’s going on in your life. See if it makes everything better.

Ready? Go!

Okay so you probably didn’t heed my advice, but it really releases stress. Even guys do this. If you’re a guy, don’t lie to me and shake your head at the computer screen. I know you’ve done that. Maybe you’ve practiced what to say to that cute girl or what you would say to your parents to convince them to buy you something. Or maybe you’ve flexed your muscles or flipped your hair in front of the mirror, saying, “Man, I look good today.” And, girls, yeah, admit it. You may not be as girly as someone else, but you talk to yourself, don’t you? You don’t have to be girly to do so.

But, yes, those are my thoughts for today. I do apologize for not posting for a long time. SATs, long papers, end of the year pressure, and a bunch of other things have been bombarding my life. I will be sure to post more in the summer so stay tuned! For now, you should definitely try talking to yourself, seriously.

Comments
  1. I’ve had many conversations with the mirror, great post!

Leave a Reply

